Header image

Tony Stewart Among Nominees for 2020 Class for NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Posted by Amy in NASCAR

Tony Stewart at last night’s Motorsports Hall Of Fame Induction (photo source: Tony Stewart Facebook page)

I have been waiting for this year’s list of nominees for the NASCAR HALL OF FAME (NHOF) with bated breath this year, hoping that Tony Stewart would be on the list. I am pleased to report that on the heels of his induction into the Motorsports Hall Of Fame of America last night; Tony Stewart has been announced as one of twenty possible nominees for the 2020 class of inductees for the NHOF today.

The other nominees are:

  1. Sam Ard, NASCAR Xfinity Series pioneer and two-time champion
  2. Buddy Baker, won 19 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the Daytona 500 and Southern 500
  3. Neil Bonnett, won 18 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victories
  4. Red Farmer, three-time Late Model Sportsman champion; 1956 Modified champion
  5. Ray Fox, legendary engine builder, crew chief, and car owner
  6. Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Series races, including two Southern 500 victories
  7. Joe Gibbs, combined for nine car owner championships in Cup and XFINITY series
  8. John Holman won two NASCAR Cup Series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing
  9. Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief
  10. Bobby Labonte won a championship in both the Cup Series and XFINITY Series
  11. Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR west series champion
  12. Ralph Moody, won two NASCAR Cup Series championships as co-owner of Holman-Moody Racing
  13. Marvin Panch, won 17 times in the NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1961 Daytona 500
  14. Jim Paschal, 23 of his 25 NASCAR Cup Series wins came on short tracks
  15. Larry Phillips, only five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion
  16. Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400
  17. Mike Stefanik, winner of record-tying nine NASCAR championships
  18. Red Vogt, the first master mechanic of NASCAR, and a founding member
  19. Waddell Wilson won three NASCAR Cup Series championships as an engine builder
Five inductees will be voted into the NHOF by the Voting Panel (which includes a fan vote that will take place on NASCAR.COM)  on May 22nd, 2019.  If Tony Stewart is chosen, he will be the second consecutive first-year ballot nominee to be elected (with Jeff Gordon being the first).
You know he will have my vote. I mean come on, he drove the 20 car for 10 years or so right? It’s the class of 2020. It’s kismet.
So tell me – if you were on the voting panel- what five choices would you be making?
Mine is no big surprise I am sure: Tony Stewart, Buddy Baker, Red Farmer, Harry Hyde, and Mike Stefanik.

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>